Who, me? Obsessed?

<_<…. >_>

Always!

Just gimme 1 week to get over this lakorn.   But lemme get this off my chest for now.  I hear so many complaints lodged against my Tan Chai for being a stiff old log and I just have to come to his defence.  First of all, he is not old.  Second, he’s so squishable, and kissable, and gosh those mesmerizing eyes… wait, no, concentrate.  Ahem… right, where was I?

Tan Chai was supposedly modeled after Fitzwilliam Darcy.  But I dare say he’s a superior version… something like a Darcy 2.0?  I wonder if everyone who watched this watched it when they were 12 and therefore missed all the subtleties of the drama.  Yes, he’s a prince who stands tall and proper.  But from the very beginning he was never Mr. Stuffy Royalty.  He is shown very early on to have a much more approachable side.  He’s a doting brother to his baby sister, a protective guardian to Praweet, a playful suitor to Prissana.  He is polite but never boring, teasing without being mean, honorable but not uptight, sweet yet not smarmy.  He has a great sense of humor and never takes offence at the jokes Prissana pulls now and then.

Case Study 1 – Doting Tan Chai:

It’s bad parenting, but it’s so adorable.  Right after complaining about how spoiled his sister is, he gets roped into spoiling her some more.

015

016

017

018

019

021

020

Case Study 2 – Sneaky Tan Chai:

After lecturing Praweet about not breaking ladies’ hearts, he has the cheeks to push Princess Ratt’s homework onto the lad.

022

023

026

025

027

028

Case Study 3 – Sarcastic Tan Chai:

Snappy Snappy

000

001

002

003

Case Study 4 – Competitive Tan Chai:

(Yes I am paying attention to all their smirks and glances they send each other’s way).

004

005

006

007

008

009

010

011

012

013

014

Case Study 5 – Good humored Tan Chai:

Lol at Prissana and her sister’s eye-rolling fest in this scene.  Apparently Tan Chai is amused too.  I love his secretive smile.

029

030

031

032

Case Study 6 – Sweet Tan Chai:

This is like Mr. Knightley saving Harriet. He really knows how to make a lady smile.

033

034

035

036

037

038

039

040

Case Study 7 – Joking Tan Chai:

041

042

044

043

045

And I take it back about Tik being a stiff actor.  Because he’s totally awesome in the restrained performance here as Prince Puth.  He likely got dragged down by Aff in Wanida.  I blame her three expressions for his :-X

And while we’re on a Prissana post, let me just go ahead and defend the awesomely romantic and apropos scene that was the ending.

The wedding was never shown.  The story ends with Tan Chai visiting Prissana the evening before their wedding.  And I thought it was f..cking perfection.  The lakorn itself is titled Prissana.  Wedding bells would signify a new chapter, a new beginning, but in the here and now, we are still watching dear sweet Prissana, on the cusp of a new life, but not yet, not now.  So whoever came up with the following scene is a frapping genius.  One of the things I love about this lakorn is its dialogues.  And here, it's perfect.  He came to say goodbye to Miss Prissana, because on the morrow a new existence awaits the both of them.  Any ole Fin can give you a wedding punctuated by a culminated period, as if a nuptial rite is truly an end to everything. What we get instead is a picture of two people drown in the promise of tomorrow.  Two giddy kids drunken in their happiness.  Tomorrow… and the day after, and the day after.  It ends and yet it doesn’t.

046

047

048

4 thoughts on “Who, me? Obsessed?

    • I actually severely truncated that whole scene when I screencapped it. They kept lingering and said some syrupy stuff after the hug too but happiness is infectious so I didn’t mind :-DWatch it, watch it!

      Like

  1. Awwww, you make my old days shine brightly.
    Even I like Ratee (she’s a amusing narcissistic spoil girl) but Tan Chai and Prissana is always a sweet couple.
    Yesterday I re-watched Prissana again because of your blog make me miss this lakorn and I can’t sleep until 4 in the morning. Haha. I don’t know how I can wake up today.

    Like

    • Lol I’ve always liked Ratee in all her dramas (Nueng Nai Suang, Oum Ruk). The actress is endearing even when she’s being a brat.I’m starting Roy Leh Sanae Rai because I’m on a Tik roll (and also I liked Aom from Songrao). I’m a little dissappointed at how immature and spoiled his role is here, but I think that’s because Tanchai eclipses everyone else.Don’t stay up so late and be a zombie like me! Work days are punishing whenever I go into an obsession lol.

      Like

Comments are closed.